Leesburg Virginia Events
The vacation in Leesburg, Loudoun County offers many opportunities and many reasons to return, and you will find that it is one of the most popular destinations for outdoor adventurers in the region. Enjoy outdoor picnic tables overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, sip wine in a historic pre-Civil War red barn, or sip in Northern Virginia's wine country. Outdoor adventurers can enjoy a variety of hiking, biking, camping, fishing and hiking trails, as well as an outdoor amphitheater in this 67-hectare park on the eastern edge of Leeburg.
The Wine Route, while unpaved and rocky, is easy to navigate and offers a relaxing view of the Virginia countryside. There are roads and mountain bikes to explore, as well as the Potomac Heritage Trail that crosses the property.
Follow the fun for more fun activities and places to drink and sightseeing in Leesburg and surrounding areas. For the full list of events and events, visit our Facebook page and add them to your timeline.
From numerous sources, Virginia laws that applied to blacks in the early 20th century, such as the Civil Rights Act of 1964, have improved the curriculum in this predominantly Quaker city. African Americans make a difference in Loudoun County, Virginia "Flemming organized the first African American art exhibition in our county at the Loudoung Museum from February to May 1996.
The event features better music, food and the longest and most popular Halloween parade in Loudoun County. The parade is considered one of the largest and longest Halloween parades in the United States and includes marching bands, floats from local businesses, Boy Scout troops and families, and costumes and costumes for children.
At the beginning of August, TASTE Leesburg invites visitors to experience the flavours of Leeburg and enjoy the streets of downtown Leesburg. The Loudoun Museum is hosting a weekend of Halloween spooky stories, led by a costumed guide.
The square on the east side of the site contains several buildings painted as the Washington Old Dominion Railroad station, which has served the city since 1968.
The Freedman's Bureau was founded in Loudoun and was founded from late 1865 to January 1866, and seven schools taught black children in a new school called Harmony. The Freedmen Office's first black school, Harmony School, was built in 1864 on the site of a former train station on the corner of Main Street and Main Avenue. In the 1950s, seven more schools were built on the site, one of which, Harmony High School for African Americans, is still in use today. One of the city's most famous children, John F. Kennedy, played here in 1950 and in the 1960s.
In June, the first post-war Negro church still standing was completed: Mount Zion Methodist in Leesburg, led by the Reverend William L. Robey. The Shiloh Baptist in Middleburg was founded by Reverend Leland Warring, and the First United Methodist Church in Loudoun County was founded in 1864 under the leadership of Reverend Harvey Johnson. Two churches where blacks worshipped after the war became the United Church of Christ and the United Baptist Church, the latter continuing under its name of 1829.
Ia Lee Park, or Ida's, is located on the north side of Leesburg and was made possible in 1986 by the efforts of the late William L. Rust and his wife Mary Ann and made available through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEDH) and the Virginia Department of Parks and Recreation (VVDR). Rusts applied to name the park after him to preserve the history and legacy of one of America's most important civil rights organizations.
Godfrey, who bought the Beacon Hill Estate west of Leesburg in the early 1950s, used the DC-3 to commute to his home in Rockland, New York. Ida Lee spent her married life in Rockland, but returned to Loudoun in the 1890s and lived in a house her son had built at 113 East Cornwall Street in Leeburg. The Rust family home is currently located on the north side of the park, north of Ia's Park, near the intersection of East Corners Street and North Main Street. He taught at Leedburg School and his wife Mary Ann and their two children, William L. Rust Jr. and Mary Anne Rust, lived there many years before his death.
In 1925, improved roads prompted some carpooling to send black teenagers to Manassas Industrial School, the first black-approved high school in Loudoun County, founded in 1894. This ride will explore the history of the black community of Leesburg from the early days of the school system to the present day.